Live from London | Academy of Ancient Music


Live from London | Academy of Ancient Music

It is with great pride and delight that we share the news of our imminent return to the concert stage, joining internationally acclaimed vocal groups The Sixteen, I Fagiolini, The Swingles, Stile Antico and others in Live from London, a groundbreaking online music festival, organised by VOCES8.

With 10 stunning programmes broadcast in HD every Saturday from 1 August, these concerts will be some of the first performances by many of us since the start of the lock-down restrictions earlier this year. Our own concert on 15 August at 7pm BST comprises a veritable cornucopia of baroque gems, with works by Purcell, Vivaldi, Marcello, Bach and Handel directed by Richard Egarr from the harpsichord.

Season ticket bookers will receive full on-demand access to all performances, as well as the complete archive of performances, available in 4K UHD – individual concert tickets are also available.

Ordering tickets through this page will benefit AAM directly at no added cost to you – please consider joining us and our partner ensembles for this joyous occasion and the return of live music! More information can be found at voces8foundation/livefromlondon

“It’s a wonderful feeling to be heading towards making live music together again after such a long time apart. Re-uniting AAM’s key players in a programme featuring our principals performing some of baroque music’s greatest concertos,  we hope that this will be a welcome sign of ‘green shoots’ for audiences online, signalling the start of the return of musicians and great performances to live concerts in the UK. We’re thrilled to be sharing an innovative online festival stage with such great choral ensembles, and warmly encourage you to buy a season ticket for Live from London. ” – Alexander Van Ingen, AAM Chief Executive 

Concert details
Purcell Chacony in G minor
JS Bach Harpsichord Concerto No. 7 in G minor, BWV1058
Vivaldi Concerto for 2 Cellos in G minor, RV531
JS Bach Violin Concerto in E Major, BWV1042
Vivaldi Concerto in A minor, op. 3 no. 8, RV 522: II. Larghetto
Handel Finale from Overture to Solomon
Marcello Concerto for Oboe in D minor
Bojan Čičić violin
James Toll violin
Joseph Crouch 'cello
Sarah McMahon 'cello
Leo Duarte oboe
Richard Egarr director/harpsichord
Concert dates
Online, VOCES8 Centre
Saturday, 15 August 2020 | 7:00pm (BST)
Tickets: £12.50 (single ticket); £80.00 (season ticket on-demand)